How Much Sugar Do You Need?

PLUM2GI love to cook, and my latest goal is to try adjusting recipes so they are more nutritional. Fat, sugar and salt are things I try to use less. Whole grains are something I try to use more often.

Tonight I made a great side dish of sauteed apples. It was easy–I peeled a russet apple, cut it into chunks, and sauteed it in a mixture of half butter and half canola oil. When the apples were cooked to a nice soft texture, I sprinkled some cinnamon on them. One taste told me they were good, and no sugar was needed.

I started cutting back on sugar several years ago. My old applesauce recipe (circa 1970) uses 4 medium apples and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Now I make applesauce in my slow cooker, and use 1/4 or 1/3 cup of sugar with 10 or 12 apples. I like to add cinnamon first, then taste before I add sugar. This works when I make cinnamon toast, too. Now I use about 1/2 teaspoon of sugar if I’m making 2 slices of toast–and I often don’t use sugar at all. Once upon a time, I would have used more than a teaspoon for each piece of toast.

Tonight’s apples were delicious with the main dish: a green pepper stuffed with quinoa, green onions, and home-made tomato sauce. These were all veggies from my personal community garden plot, by the way.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

