Bookmarks

I’m here to celebrate one of my favorite things!

I woke up early this morning and decided to finish reading my November/December issue of Poets & Writers. (I love this magazine, and the new issue arrived recently.) So I reached for the bookmark I was using, and opened it up.

I have a pile of bookmarks in a drawer next to my bed, but there’s a special one I usually use for magazines. It’s that postcard most magazines have inside–the one that lets you say “Yes, I want to save…” and all you have to do is fill it out and mail it.

It was a great early morning. Not only did I finish the November/December issue and start the January/February one, I also started the Fall/Winter issue of American Poets. And that was just my magazines!

I’m also reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane on my Kindle. Of course, I don’t need a bookmark for that. And I’m also listening to a Charles Dickens’ audio book–Bleak House–and I don’t need a bookmark for that, either.

I also have real books. I know, it’s the 21st century and all, but I really love real books. I have a bunch of bookshelves in my living room that actually takes up one whole wall. Upstairs in my bedroom is a pile of books I expect to be reading soon, and a shelf that holds things I am currently pursuing. This shelf can get very crowded. It’s a good thing I have a drawer with bookmarks in it. At least they can keep the physical location of my last reading adventures easy to find.

So what do I use for bookmarks? Besides the previously mentioned postcards, I use actual paper or cardboard bookmarks. I use strips of ribbon. I use some neat, antique looking clip-ons that my daughter gave me once for Christmas. Sometimes, when everything I have is already busy, I’ll cut a length of yarn and use that to hold my place.

Over the last couple of years I’ve tried to read fewer books at the same time, because I can finish them faster if I’m reading a half dozen instead of many more. My rule is to be reading one on the Kindle, one audiobook, one magazine and one actual, real book.

That’s the rule. But I’m pretty sure rules are made to be broken…which is why my real rule is to read only as many books at one time as I can bookmark. Yarn is a wonderful thing!

This entry was posted in literature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

