Winter and The Web

It’s Friday, December 11, 2015. At 9:30 this morning I was sitting outside on my porch. OK, I was wearing a jacket–it was only (!) fifty five degrees at the time. It’s sixty two this afternoon.

So far this has been the winter season I love, but never expect. Even though the temperature has gone down into the twenties a couple of times, there’s been practically no rain or snow. We’ve had just over an inch of snow–total–so far. At this time last year, we had over a foot. I’ve finished raking leaves and cleaning up my plant beds. I’m knitting Christmas presents and reading audio books (yes, at the same time–why not do two favorite things at once?) And I’m spending some interesting time on my computer. I updated to Windows 10 about a week ago, and so far I like it so much more than Windows 8.1.

I’ve also found a book-related site that I’m enjoying a lot. It’s OnlineBookClub.org. There’s a lot you can do there. Among other things, there are forums about books and authors. There are forums where poets and short story writers can post things they’ve written, and get interesting responses about their work. As a member, you can make a list of the books you own–it’s called “Your Shelves”–and indicate what you’re reading currently. I haven’t done this yet. I’m trying to decide where to start. Should it be the pile of unread books in my bedroom? The books on my Kindle? Then I look at the entire wall of bookshelves in my living room, and decide I need to come up with a plan–a serious plan!

There’s also an interesting book review program. I’m not going to go into the details here, but you can visit and check out the Review Team on FAQS. My plan is to work on reviews, and see how it goes. I’m intrigued because this is a time-consuming process–in a good way, I think– that deals with one of my favorite things. So far I’ve enjoyed the time I’ve spent on the site, and I’m looking forward to doing more!

 

This entry was posted in personal report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

