My Historic Neighbor

I just found out that our local library has been renamed! It is now the Frederick Douglass Community Library, and its location is one where Douglass actually lived. I’m very pleased with this renaming, since Douglass is one of my favorite historical people.

One of the things that impressed me when I moved to Rochester was that he had lived here. For many years now I’ve actually been in the neighborhood myself, and it’s not unusual to walk by his house. But I’m not talking about the house that was burned near the library. The only house Douglass owned that still exists is about a block down the street from my house.

It’s easy for me to imagine that if I had been sitting on the porch back in the 1870s, I could have seen Douglass walking by. I could have said hello to him, and let him know how much I appreciate the work he did in abolition and women’s rights.

Here’s an interesting article about his house becoming a city landmark in 2010. Many thanks to the Preservation Board!

http://landmarksociety.org/2010/01/recognition-for-a-forgotten-frederick-douglass-site/

This entry was posted in personal report, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

